Comparison Syndrome

Galatians 6:4-5 “Each of you must examine your own actions. Then you can be proud of your own accomplishments without comparing yourself to others. Assume your own responsibility” 

2 Corinthians 10:12 “For we dare not make ourselves of the number, or compare ourselves with some that commend themselves: but they measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.” We are keeping ourselves from wisdom the longer we compare ourselves to others.

James 3:16 “From where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice” We don’t always mean for it, but selfish ambition is what we have when we compare ourselves to others. Comparison is like a disease that the devil uses to keep us from being sober minded. 

If we, as Christians, really want to preach to the world about our God, then we have to live our His word first. And, if you are a follower of Christ, you know that this isn’t always the easiest thing. And in my opinion, comparison is one of those really tiny things that can be easy to overlook. Honestly, I can compare myself to others all day long and no one really has to know. 

I have had a lot of friends through my life who have told me that they think I am “such a good person” or that they are scared to tell me about their sins, because I might not understand. I remember so many times telling those friends that I AM a sinner, believe it or not. And it didn’t understand how they didn’t know I sinned. Of course I sin. But recently I have learned that the reason they didn’t know is because my sin is a lot of times in my mind. I can compare myself all day long and no one will even know. It takes humility and courage to open up to someone about the comparison syndrome and actually ask to be held accountable. 

Opening up to someone like that is pure transparency. It’s scary. It can sometimes make us feel dirty and guilty. What we have to remember is these feelings are from the devil. Just like comparison is of the world, not of the Lord, also guilt is of the world. Conviction is of God, and the difference is that conviction causes us to change, as to where guilt scares us into a corner. The Lord has called us to a life without fear and a life with freedom. 

Comparison is a joy killer. Not only that, but comparison is captivating. It binds us like a chain. It suffocated us. It makes us feel isolated and lonely and unworthy and incapable. All of these things lead to destruction. All of it covers up the still small voice of the Lord in our heart. 

What would this generation look like if we decided to attempt to overcome comparison. I believe when we take a bold step, the Lord rewards that. Doing an action for Him will never come back void. 

Therefore, arise oh sleeper. See the dawn. See all that God has in store. It is so much more. Immeasurably more than we can even imagine. Set your eyes on Him. Full Focus Forward. 

922906_10208094916429432_8431117252203367036_n

Leave a Reply

