Falling For Thanksgiving

fall church

Often, I find myself trying to overlook the cross.聽

Don鈥檛 misunderstand me. I love Jesus. He is amazing. But it hurts me thinking I put Him there. It鈥檚 hard for me to think about the fact that I killed my Dad. I killed my Friend. I made Him do that. He didn鈥檛 deserve that; His perfection should not have had to go through that. Even though i know He is okay now, it hurts meek knowing that I hurt Him.

By not wanting to think about my putting Jesus on the cross, I end up discounting God. And I feel like i can鈥檛 possibly be the only one subconsciously {because for a long time, I honestly didn鈥檛 even realize} doing this. He deserves for me to look upon His with repentance and gratitude in my heart daily. Not guilt. God doesn鈥檛 guilt us. He gives conviction.聽

Guilt is from the devil.聽

And I鈥檝e been letting him get into my head and distract me from the {thanksgiving} my God deserves.聽

It鈥檚 okay to cringe at the thought of nails in our Savior鈥檚 hands. It鈥檚 okay to hate the fact that a crown of thorns was put on His head. But it is not okay to hate it so much that we dismiss it completely. It happened. And although it鈥檚 easy to say that since we weren鈥檛 alive then, we didn鈥檛 contribute to Him being up there, it isn鈥檛 the truth. We all put Him up there. Every sinner since Adam until Jesus comes back put Him up there. We have salvation, because He died FOR us. So if we “didn鈥檛 put Him up there鈥, then we should starting worrying NOW, because we don鈥檛 have a path to Heaven!聽

See? Yes. We did it. Yes I put those nails in my Savior鈥檚 hands, because I sin every single day. Yes, I KILLED my Lord. The Lord of Lords and the King of Kings was put to death by me and every single other person on this earth.聽

Yes. That鈥檚 heart wrenching. But it鈥檚 also beautiful. He turns everything to good for those who love Him. That doesn鈥檛 mean everything, BUT鈥. No. It just means every single situation, problem, issue, thought, action is all turned to our good.聽

That means the cross is for our good- It is our path to eternity.聽

Do not be afraid. God is Love. There is no fear in Love. Do not fear the cross. Or thinking about the cross. Or the fact that we put Him there. He isn鈥檛 mad. We shouldn鈥檛 feel guilt. Conviction to change, yes. Guilt, no. The cross is a symbol of forgiveness {along with so much more}. And therefore, He is not up here holding the cross over our heads.聽

He is up there saying 鈥淢y sweet child, I forgive you for your sins. Come to my open arms and let me transform your heart鈥. He isn鈥檛 asking for us to change. See thats what guilt does. It tells us to change before we even think about talking to Jesus, because we can鈥檛 possibly be good enough.聽

But God gives us conviction. And not a worldly conviction like we see in the law world. But a Godly conviction. Matt Slick on carm.org explains conviction as 鈥渃onviction in the believer brings an awareness of sin and results in repentance, confession, and cleansing鈥. He also talks about how conviction is 鈥減roduced by the Holy Spirit鈥.聽

Thats the point of the cross. It is a gift, in a sense, that helps us become more like Him.

We should look at the cross and say 鈥淕od thank you for forgiveness and mercy and grace. Thank you for saving me from the guilt and shame the devil wishes I would carry around with me. Thank you for giving me your light burden and taking mine. Change my heart to be more like yours. Thank you for not making my salvation works based. But thank you for helping my heart desire good works for you.鈥

fall flowersTherefore, from now on, I declare to {fall for the thanksgiving} that my God deserves that comes from HIS conviction versus falling for the shame the devil gives.

Photography by my grandfather, Ronnie Smith https://www.facebook.com/ronniesmithphotography

Leave a Reply

