Fleeting Feelings Fail

hebrews-13-8

Jesus is a choice. He gave us this beautifully scary thing called free will which means we don’t have to follow Him if we do so choose.

I have heard so many people talk about the fact that they made the choice to ask Jesus into their hearts but now they don’t feel Him. They don’t feel Him when they pray or read the Bible. I myself have been in this situation to many times to even count. But when Jesus comes into our lives, He doesn’t present Himself as something as wordly and fleeting as a feeling. No no no. He comes as a life changer to those who desire a life change. He is a choice. Just like abiding is a choice, Jesus is a choice and once we grasp that topic we can stray away from the feeling of anxiety that the devil burdens us with. Christians spend so much time trying to figure out if they are saved and secure when it really isn’t about some overwhelming feeling that comes over us, but it’s about CHOOSING everyday to wake up and go live for His Kingdom. You know if we all just focused more on hanging out with Jesus we would probably would stop questioning our salvation?

The Greek word for believe in the New Testament is “pisteuó” which means to “believe or entrust”. This truly struck me when I first saw this staring back at me from the computer screen. Because I don’t know about normal people, but when I entrust something to someone, I don’t usually do it with ease. There are only a few people that I would trust a whole lot with. I might tell my friends my innermost thoughts because I trust them, and I might not even think twice about doing so, but the road that friendship took to get to that place of sharing secrets like it’s candy came with bumps and pot-holes. I probably had to get to know them, share some smaller things with them first, and even spend some time with them, maybe get a coffee or two together. I had to really really get to know them. Then when I did decide to trust them, it was just that, I DECIDED to trust them. It was a choice that I consciously made. Now once a person gains your trust, they can lose it. But that’s only because of their human nature mistakes. God doesn’t make those. Therefore we can decide to trust Him and know that it’s done. It is finished.

Honestly, the same case can be made for the word believing, but I think nowadays believing is considered a feeling. We expect to have this feeling that will never leave once we ask Jesus into our hearts, and I’m not saying that people don’t have a feeling they feel. But I think most people that go into their salvation expecting it to be just a feeling end up getting disappointed and begin to question their salvation altogether.

It’s not a feeling. I can feel happy one second because I saw a cute baby and sad the next because that baby fell then right after that be mad because someone knocked it down then go right into feeling guilty because I realize the person only pushed the baby to get it away from danger. Then I’m right back to mad at the person who was causing the danger.

You see Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow. He has always been and will always be. So why in the universe would be come a feeling? That’s a lie from the devil. Satan wants us to question our relationship with God and get so focused on that that we forget to go tell others about our relationship with God.

Don’t fall into it. God reveals to us through the New Testament numerous times to not get caught up in the world.

Colossians 3:2

“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.”

Proverbs 4:25

“Let your eyes look directly forward, and your gaze be straight before you.”

Matthew 6:33

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

It’s easy to assume that God means don’t get caught up in the newest clothing trend or impressing people, because those are the more obvious ways that people can get caught up. but He means don’t get caught up in the world- that means straight up all of it. Emotions are apart of this world. Therefore, feelings will inevitably fail us. We can choose to ride a religious roller coaster and never accept that peace that comes with abiding in Christ Jesus, but that peace is sitting their waiting for us to take hold of it.

Fight the good fight my sweet friends. He loves us too much for us to question our personal relationships any longer.

Leave a Reply

