I’m Not Perfect; I’m Loved

IMG_1512

Independent. Our wholes lives we hear that one day we will need to be “independent” to be “successful” and that when we are adults we shouldn’t be dependent on anyone. In fact it’s dangerous to be dependent on someone, a boyfriend for instance, who might not be there forever. Tf we depend on them, things could possibly take a turn for the worst and leave us in the dust. This is true and honest advice!

But what we forget to do is differentiate between dependency on humans and dependency on God. We actually MUST depend on God. Without Him our life is so temporary and ultimately meaningless. 

When it comes to living out a godly and influential life, we cannot do it alone. I don’t know about ya’ll, but I am a major control freak, and I am usually the one that would rather just do it alone. So this is completely me writing what God is working on in my heart. I can’t do it without Him. I need Him every single day, every single minute. Without Him, I fall into the desire of my flesh and end up hurting myself. Even when I do abide in Him, I STILL fail Him daily, but He is always there to pick me back up and help me through, just like the sweet loving parent He is.  

2 Corinthians 12:9 says 

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you {There will always be grace for our sins}, for my power is made perfect in weakness {Embrace our weaknesses so that His power will be made known to us and those around us}.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest in me{We can be overjoyed about the fact that we don’t have to be perfect, because He gives us a peace; it’s truly freeing}.” 

God makes our imperfect perfect by being strongest in our weaknesses. It’s in our weaknesses that people truly see Jesus. I can’t just be joyful all on my own. So that’s a weakness, but when people see that we are overcoming our weakness with what looks like ease, then they know that there is something different about us. And all of our hearts crave eternity which is why we talk about forever so much {or at least that the Kaylin Hypothesis} but it even says in Romans 1:20

“For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities- His eternal power and divine nature- have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse”

To me that kind of means we all have a sense of eternity, because we are all exposed to His creation. And I feel that when a nonbeliever sees us enduring our weaknesses because we know it makes our God stronger, then it festers up that sense and desire for eternity in them

So really, our weaknesses bring glory to God.

A God who loves us oh so deeply. John 3:16

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten son so that whoever believes in Him may not perish but have everlasting life.”

The most popular Bible verse probably in America declares God’s love for us, and not only does it declare His love for us but it declares His desire for our imperfect selves

The world may tell us to be insecure about our imperfections but God embraces them with open arms and loves us anyway. He wants us to come to Him and then He will help us continue on the path of holiness until we finally meet with Him in heaven one day. He wants us to run to Him with all of our issues and then He wants to take them away for us and give us His light burden. 

So no we aren’t perfect, but guys there is so much beauty in our imperfection. If we have Jesus, we no longer have to try to live up to whatever type of perfect that we are trying to obtain. I saw a quote the other day and it said “You could be the ripest, juiciest, peach in the whole world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches” So pretty much, you can work towards your idea of perfection for the rest of your life and even if you did obtain it, you still wouldn’t be perfect to someone else. 

There is no way to please everyone, but abiding in God can bring us so much joy and freedom and peace. He loves our flaws. He loves our imperfections. He loves us so much more than anyone on this earth. He loves us so much more than we will ever understand. Because of His love, we never need to be perfect. We can start living the freeing life of just realizing the love His has for us and loving ourselves. 

Leave a Reply

