My Personal, Personal Assistant^

Personal assistants. What comes to mind? A random, usually unnamed worker in a suit. They do a lot of the work, but the credit is rarely, even slightly, given to them.

I wish I could tell you why or how this specific thought came to my mind, but I can’t. What I can explain though is that assistants are important. They walk behind their person, pick up their loose ends, help in absolutely anyway they can. They are expected to do more they it seems possible to accomplish.

Jesus is literally a personal assistant. Now, I don’t mean to degrade our Savior at all by saying this. I just want people to realize what God has provided us with. It is truly beautiful. Anytime we need something, we ask. He is there anytime we’re hurting or happy or any other emotion, we can share that with them. Most of us take that extremely for granted.

I went to Passion a few weeks ago, as you all probably know, and Francis Chan (an extremely amazing man of God, if you don’t know him, look him up) made a very good point that I would like to share with ya’ll! Moses, in the Bible, got to go up on the mountain once to meet with God. God told him not to tell anyone even touch the side of the mountain or he shall be killed. There were all these precautions that had to be taken. The same goes for when the Priests would go into the Tabernacle. They had to do and wear certain things and what not. We see this all through the Old Testament. Meeting or talking to God was an intense situation! It took some hard work! But we, through Jesus Christ, have access to The Most High God ANYTIME WE WANT! We don’t have those restrictions anymore. So what are we doing wasting our time?

He wants us guys. He wants a personal relationship. He is the Almighty God. He can do anything. He is always with us.

Matthew 7:7-8 says “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be open for you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened”; Matthew 11: 28-29 says “Come to Me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls”; 1 Peter 5:7 says “Cast all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you”.

He is literally begging us to utilize our relationship with Him. Our job here on earth is to make God known. A lot of times we get caught up in life and forget that that is all that really matters. But we should all realize that we don’t have to be consumed with wordly desires and concerns. He has already made a way for us. We just have to follow that narrow path.

The reason I think that God laid this on my heart is that it is a problem I deal with immensely. I take God for granted. I don’t always look at reading my Bible as if it is me in the presence of my true Creator. I think it is a work in progress for most of us, and that’s okay. One thing I always say is God knows when we’re trying, He knows were sinners and loves us anyway. He doesn’t expect perfection, but He does want us to use the breath He has given us to glorify His Kingdom.

Not only does the realization that God is constantly with us strengthen our relationship with Him, it can help us bring people to Him. If He is constantly on our mind by using our Bible app 3 times a day to look at a verse, or writing one on our hands or on note cards around our house or if we just put little prayer reminders up, then we will be slowly but surely start glorifying God through our lives and actions, not just through our words. And that is when I have found, through my experience, discipleship the most effective, when someone catches me living through example verses through my words. Usually they will ask a question like “why do you not cuss” or “why are you always doing so and so a favor” and then you say well, I love Jesus and that’s what I feel He wants me to do(: It may not always work out that way. Maybe it only happens like 1 in every 5 non-Christians you have, but I honestly think we influence more people than we think we do.

I don’t know about you guys, but I am constantly asking myself if I am doing enough for God. But I always come to the same conclusion. I could always be doing more for God, but the Bible says

“Then they asked Him (Jesus), ‘What must we do to do the works of God’, and Jesus answered, ‘The work of God is this: to believe in the one He has sent.’” (John 6:28)

We don’t earn His Love through works, we already have that. But through the works He commands us to do, we will bring more people into His Love

Leave a Reply

