New Years Resolution

Hey all!

So, since the Christmas festivities are coming to a close, everyone is thinking of their New Years Resolutions. I thought long and hard about what mine should be. Everyone usually has the resolution to loose weight so something around that sort. But why? Songs of Songs 4:7 says “you are altogether beautiful my darling, there is no blemish in you” so why are we all running around trying to be beautiful. Jesus said, “And why do you worry about clothes? See the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you not even Solomon in all His splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown in the fire, will he not much more clothe you- you of little faith? So do not worry.” That is not only powerful, but important. It is so easy to get caught up in the world, and begin to care about what others think, when truly the Lord has greater things for our minds to think about. We are taken care of. We lay in His hands, and therefore, He has the hard things covered. This is actually such a large releif. We don’t have to strive for the worlds approval. He even says in 1 John that the world will not like us. So striving to please what the Lord has said will not accept us is a no win game. What about all of the ways that God has for us to glorify his name. In Romans 10:14 we see a perfect verse calling us to speak his name. “How will they hear of whom they have not been told about?” My oh my do we have far richer concerns than what clothes we wear or the earthly body we live in.

So, this year, my resolution consists of my self image, but in a completely different way. I want to look myself in the mirror everyday and tell myself that I am beautiful and worthy. In God’s eyes, we are all worthy. That is kind of hard to comprehend for me sometimes. We’re convicted for this sin and that sin. We are always trying to make ourselves better. Which is good. I fully believe that if we try our hardest, God knows. And when we are standing at those Pearly Gates, He will say “Well done good and faithful servant”. I cannot even imagine the joy inside my heart if I heard those words spoken to me. So I, as well, will constantly continue to strive to improve in the ways that I feel God is laying on my heart. But starting January 1st, I will strive to ONLY better myself in just that. The ways that I feel God is laying on my heart. I know that I know that I know that I know that God loves me and sees me as perfect. Jesus died on that cross over 2000 years ago and He already took care of that for me. I want to strive to please my Abba Father and not the people of this world. I have amazing friends and family in my life, like most of us do, and they don’t care if I look like a VS model or a hobo honestly. If I spend the amount of time on pleasing God that I do trying to please the world, the good that would come from that wouldn’t even be measurable.

Besides, confidence, or the lack of, is one of the main reasons that keep people from sharing God’s word anyway. I cannot count the number of times I have backed out of approaching a Devine Appointment because of a negative thought that I hold about myself. It’s a wonder we even care about what a stranger we might not ever see again thinks anyway when our Father and Savior are calling us to do something small to bring someone to the love that is greater than any earthly love they will ever possess.

It won’t come perfectly, by any means. I probably won’t even truly see results from awhile, but I like i said, I believe with all my heart that God knows when we’re trying our hardest. That’s what he really asks for is effort. God hasn’t called me to worry about having a perfect image; He has called us ALL to much higher things. It’s about time we figured out what those things are.

Leave a Reply

